Bowl Opt Outs

Personally, I think that unless you are entering the NFL Draft OR (unfortunately in today’s College NFL) entering the transfer portal you should play in the bowl game. I think it should be a rule that if you are under scholarship to the school then you should play.

What will be interesting to see is when we have this 12 team playoff format what will teams look like then? Let’s say Miami is in the playoff and our QB 1 declares for NFL, our QB 2 transfers, etc…for many of the positions on the team?

These bowl games don’t mean anything to these kids.

Who’s out so far?

I was discussing this same thing the other day with a friend. These non playoff bowl games are not like they used to be with kids going into the portal and not playing. i think with the larger playoff that may not happen as much for those going in the portal. I think they may want to stay with team to try to win. The kid can still play if in portal. If i was a coach and my chance of winning bowl game would be in jeopardy due to good players in portal i would tell them to stay and play. U know some of these coaches may have bonuses for winning a bowl Maybe change the portal window opening time frame.
If kid is preparing for draft then I understand if thats what they want to do.

1 Like

I think overall we are good on this front but I saw FSU losing alot on offense and defense. They will get killed by Georgia.

FSU is squandering their opportunity to make a statement that they belonged. It’s a real shame–the public perception will be that FSU did not belong in the playoff and the committee got it right by excluding them.

1 Like

Not much to argue about with Bianchi here:

In other news, always good to see Bama lose. No great love for Michigan. Just f’ Bama. And now Texas vs. Washington. Rooting for UW. Texas is a few shades of gray less deplorable than Bama.